Pixar’s been a bit… out of their element, recently. Ever since Cars 2, they just haven’t been able to get that old spark back. And a lot of people sort of gave up. Pixar was flawed, and they were coming apart at the seams. That is, until Inside Out. Now, I was excited for Inside Out from the getgo, and although my opinion of it fluctuated wildly over the course of the film’s production and promotion, when I heard the kind of reception it got at Cannes, I was amped. And rightfully so, it turns out, because this movie is the witch’s dick, and I don’t use the term loosely.

As it currently stands, it’s at #2 on my list of this year’s movies, behind Fury Road, but that is of course subject to change. I can’t imagine it won’t make the top five. While the central idea is reminiscent of ’90s shitcom Herman’s Head, it takes that idea and brings it in a really original and cool direction. I was a little worried that the physics of the universe wouldn’t add up and it would distract from enjoying the movie, but it really does a wonderful job of keeping you captivated even when it doesn’t make much sense.

Part of this is that the animation is just gorgeous, even by Pixar standards. While Monsters University’s animation was creative, Brave’s captivating, and Cars 2’s incredibly lifelike, Inside Out does a good job managing all three, while also bringing an interesting yarn-like style to the emotions. I feel like we’re really spoiled with the number of beautiful animated movies we get nowadays (Big Hero 6, The Lego Movie, How to Train Your Dragon 2, The Book of Life, The Boxtrolls, Song of the Sea), but I’m not complaining.

It’s also emotionally captivating, which you might expect from a movie that’s literally about emotions, but you’d be surprised how well it conveys to the audience the five main emotions it presents, especially in the dream sequence. The whole movie operates on this cool dream logic that makes everything really fun to watch, and you hardly notice that Bing Bong killed an innocent man. On a related note, at one point a character says “Forget it, Jake– it’s Cloudtown,” which I think is my favorite line I’ve heard in a movie this year.

There was also this beautiful short at the beginning called “Lava”. It was about a lonely volcano that sang a song every day about how lonely he was and eventually found love. It was the cutest thing I’ve seen all year.

I’d give Inside Out an A+. It’s beautiful, hilarious, heartfelt, and definitely a must-see. Next on my movie agenda is Dope, Ted 2, and Magic Mike XXL, but I’m also working on a few music-themed articles I think you’ll really like. Like this post if you like it, comment if you’ve got something to say, follow my blog if you like it like it, you can also follow me on Twitter @BreakingPOORLY, and happy Father’s Day/Summer Solstice/Aboriginal Day/Blackout Day, and happy birthday to Lana Del Rey, Rebecca Black, Prince William, Chris Pratt, Jean-Paul Sartre, Meredith Baxter, Joey Kramer of Aerosmith, Benazir Bhutto, Lana Wachowski, Pete Rock, and Edward Snowden. Big day.

