Well… Entourage. I can’t say I ever really watched the show, not often anyway. I had a vague idea of what it was: a satire of the film industry and Hollywood dudebro culture loosely based on Mark Wahlberg’s life. And from the few episodes I did watch, it seemed pretty good. It just didn’t really captivate me. So I didn’t really go out of my way to see the Entourage movie. What happened was, my mother was taking my little sister to go see Pitch Perfect 2, and it just kind of worked out that way.

Am I glad that I saw it? Sure. Honestly, I’m not really understanding a lot of the negative press it’s getting. People who liked the show would like the movie, I’d assume, and critics in general liked the show. Maybe that’s the problem. Maybe it felt too much like a long episode of the show, which is fair, but I felt it was self-contained enough to kind of work. I’ve heard some argue that it’s not an accurate representation of Hollywood anymore, but I wouldn’t exactly know myself, and I took it with a grain of salt since it’s supposed to be over the top.

So, what did I like about the movie? First of all, Adrian GrenieršŸ‘Œ. But apart from that, it’s not actually a very easy question to answer. I mean, it was funny. It kept me interested. It didn’t take itself too seriously but it wasn’t too over-the-top either. It was fun, it had stakes, it had a satisfying ending. I liked Haley Joel Osment. It was just an all-around solid movie. One thing that I particularly disliked about it is that, while it challenged its characters to confront their wrongdoings a few times, they ultimately didn’t learn anything and still got a happy ending. It didn’t ruin the movie, but it was definitely an important flaw.

I’d give it another B. See it if you can, but no rush. If you liked the show, you’ll like the movie. And if you liked this post, you can like it or follow me. You can also follow me on Twitter @BreakingPOORLY and comment if you’ve got something to say. Be on the lookout for upcoming reviews of Spy, Jurassic World, Inside Out, and probably some other stuff.

