At one point, I was going to do a ranking of every DreamWorks movie ever. Unfortunately, I lost all my progress about ten entries in, so I wound up scrapping the article. In case you guys wanted to know, my favorite DreamWorks movie is Shrek 2, and the worst is Shark Tale. These are both pretty predictable decisions, and most of the ranking process actually went by pretty smoothly. The one franchise that I had the most trouble with was Madagascar.

The first Madagascar movie is great. The second one is great. The third one is great. If I had to rank them, I’d say 1, 3, 2. Or maybe 3, 2, 1. But also maybe 3, 1, 2. I have very conflicting feelings about these movies. I would say, though, that as a general rule, the films improved themselves creatively and comedically with each subsequent installment. And The Penguins of Madagascar is no exception.

There were a lot of hilarious movies this year, but this was definitely the funniest kid’s movie I’ve seen all year. There’s a really funny running joke where the villain, played by John Malkovich, calls out his henchmen and inadvertently shouts the names of celebrities (“Nicolas, cage them!”, “Drew, Barry, more power!”). The comedy in this movie is actually really clever, to the point that some critics argue that it’s too smart for kids. These critics are dumbasses.

And while we’re at it, I really like the design of the villain. He’s an octopus who wears a very realistic human costume, and the result is a human who moves like an octopus, giving the character a very funny and very fluid way of moving. Although, in many ways, the real villain of the movie is Benedict Cumberbatch’s character, Classified. BeNEDict’s Decumberfied is the head of a team of spies very much like the penguins themselves, with less compassion, more bureaucracy, and a much higher budget. The two teams are constantly fighting over whose mission it is, and ultimately their fight is never resolved, because DreamWorks didn’t know what to do with its own story.

Story- and character-wise, the film isn’t very original, but DreamWorks hasn’t made an original movie in four years (Megamind) and they’re not going to start now. The film’s central conflict is very reminiscent of Despicable Me 2, and a lot of the group dynamics and plot arcs seem to be straight out of Avengers and Guardians of the Galaxy, which are of course, the same movie.

I guess there’s not really much else to say about this movie. I give it an A. It’s easily one of my favorite DreamWorks movies, and hearkens to the rapid-fire wit of my other favorites, Shrek 2 and Megamind. I highly recommend it. Like if you like, follow if you follow, don’t forget to follow me on Twitter @BreakingPOORLY, and as always…

liek dis if u cyre vritrme.

And yes, I do ship Private and Skipper.

