That title might not make a lot of sense, until you realize that this movie is made by Laika, the company whose previous two ventures were Coraline and Paranorman. So, this is sort of like the World’s End of Laika movies: on it’s own, it’s great, but it doesn’t really stack up to the other two. Allow me to elaborate.

The story follows a boy who was adopted by Boxtrolls (trolls with boxes can you believe it what a name) and raised by them. The trolls give him the name Eggs, because the box he wears says “eggs” on it. Wait, since when do eggs come in cardboard boxes? I guess it’s just part of this KOOKY ALTERNATE UNIVERSE WOOOOOOO.

Actually, one of this movie’s main problems is that it tries too hard to be quirky. The trolls can kind of speak English a little bit sometimes, but the boy who was raised by them speaks it fluently. The villain kidnaps all the Boxtrolls and then has them build a machine that allows him to… kill the Boxtrolls? Whaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa

And that’s not even getting into the villains intentions. The reason Ben Kingsley wants to kill the Boxtrolls is because the mayor promised him a white hat. That’s it. You think I’m skimping on you, no. That’s the whole reason. Actually, there’s a little bit of a reason he wants the hat. Once you have the hat, you get to go to cheese tasting committees. And that’s it.

Oh, and another thing. HE’S ALLERGIC TO FUCKING CHEESE. I don’t even get it. Why does he want the cheese so badly? I get that cheese is important in this WACKY TOBACKY UA BRUH, but he doesn’t even like the cheese that much. He likes it, but not enough for it to be an addiction.

Of course, the real stars of the movie are the henchmen, played bizarrely by Nick Frost, Richard Ayoade, and Tracy Morgan. Weird, huh? I mean, those are all very talented comedic actors, but the characters they play aren’t really all that much like the actors. I don’t know, nitpicking. Anyway, the characters are in a constant moral dilemma about whether or not they’re the good guys. Now, that’s the Laika I know. I don’t need this Pretty Woman-ass, Ratatouille-ass bullshit. I want originality. And there’s a shining example of something original, funny, lifelike, and Laika-y (see: character in Paranorman turns out to be gay at the end of the movie).

There aren’t any scenes or lines that particularly stand out, except for one. The boy asks a girl she meets at a parade where the Boxtroll exterminators live. She says they live on Curds Way, which is pretty funny in and of itself. The boy asks how to get to Curds Way, and Elle Fanning replies, “Milk turns into it,” while pointing at a street sign that reads “Milk St.” HAHAHAHAHAHAH

The plot is a bit all over the place, but not hard to follow. I wish I could talk about the movie’s strong suits, of which there are many, but they’re hard to identify outside of “everything I haven’t mentioned yet.” It really is a good movie. Just not Coraline good.

So overall, I give it a B. Check it out if you feel so inclined. Over at Media Pick, I’ll have reviews of Everything Will Be Alright in the End, Birdman, and Tha Carter V. Over here, I’ll be writing about whatever I think of, whenever I think of it. That’s the RFNP Way (R). Like if you like, follow if you follow, you can follow me on Twitter @BreakingPOORLY, or on Tumblr at wheelbarrowgod.tumblr.com. And as always…

Leik dis if u cry eiveirtereritem.

