Brief note before we begin: THE BOOK DOESN’T MATTER. When Phillip Noyce decided to make this movie, his intention wasn’t to make the movie like the book. It was to make the book into a movie. And yes, I have read The Giver, and yes, I did enjoy it. But I don’t give a shit if the movie isn’t like the book.

Anyway, this movie has a 43 on Metacritic right now, and from what I can tell, there are two reasons. First, the climax, which does sort of suck, as well as the very rushed resolution. And second, parts of it aren’t like the book. Honestly though, I didn’t care all that much about the ending. The rest of the movie was very well-done, I felt, although much of it had been done before. There was one particular scene that made me tear up a little towards the end, although I still admit that the whole “montage of human history” bit has been done a million times before, as has the “slow development of color in a black and white movie” thing.

I guess the relationships also feel pretty forced at times. Brenton Thwaites and Odeya Rush don’t have a lot of chemistry (yes, those are both names). Cameron Monaghan, who you may recognize from somewhere (he was in something, right?), delivers a pretty OK performance, but once again his character seems to make some odd and sudden shifts from the lovable goof to the authoritarian do-gooder. Also, and I know I said this doesn’t matter, but he’s not all that much like the character in the book. In the book, he seemed not to give much of a shit if Jonas disobeyed, from what I remember.

There were a lot of excellent performances in the movie. This was one of the few non-Dude roles Jeff Bridges has ever done, and he makes a very good Giver. Meryl Streep also did a pretty good job, but that’s Meryl Streep. Taylor Swift had maybe four lines and one scene, but I can honestly say I had no idea it was Taylor Swift.

Overall, I give it a B. It had its issues, but it’s far from bad. Still working on that Eminem article. I had to start over, but I’m getting there. Like if you like, follow if you follow, don’t forget to follow me on Twitter @BreakingPOORLY, comment down below if you just wanna talk, and as always…

Liek dis if u cry eivertm.

