Let’s just jump right in.

#6: BAD WORDS
As I’ve said before, I haven’t really seen any bad movies so far this year. I think I might see A Haunted House 2, just to have something fun to review, because at this point last year, I had already seen two of the five worst movies of the year. But of the movies I’ve seen so far, the least remarkable was most assuredly Bad Words. It was good, but it just wasn’t that good, ya dig?

#5: MR. PEABODY AND SHERMAN
Mr. Peabody and Sherman was the best example of me not super trying to avoid bad movies. I half-expected it to be terrible. In the end, of course, it was really good, but it still suffered from some typical DreamWorks pitfalls.

#4: CAPTAIN AMERICA: THE WINTER SOLDIER
The thing with Winter Soldier is that I get why people like it so much. It’s got a lot of great action, an interesting plot, and on the surface, seems like a near-perfect film. Yet somehow, it’s boring. I have no idea how a film like this could lose my attention, but it did.

#3: MUPPETS MOST WANTED
Surprise! I actually really liked Muppets Most Wanted! You’ll remember that the only major complaint I had about it was that it was cliché, and I’ve come to the realization that it’s making fun of those clichés, same as every other Muppet movie. There’s never been a Muppet movie that I couldn’t say that about. I really don’t know what I was thinking.

#2: THE GRAND BUDAPEST HOTEL

I think I can say without a doubt that this is my favorite Wes Anderson movie. And yes, I know I said I’d only seen three of them, but I just saw Darjeeling Limited, so shut up. I have no idea how Wes even thought of this. It’s such an odd concept. That being said, it’s an awesome, hilarious movie that you should definitely check out.

#1: THE LEGO MOVIE

Yep, my #1’s still The LEGO Movie. I’m honestly pretty concerned that the first movie I saw this year is going to wind up being the best (technically fourth, but it’s the first that came out this year that I saw this year). It just can’t be beat. It’s one of my all-time favorite kids’ movies. I literally cannot recommend this movie highly enough.

That was a bit of a quickie, so I’ll have something else out later. Likefavoritefollowblargh.

