I’ve said before that, besides The Avengers, Captain America is my favorite MCU movie. The cast is great, the story is great, the action is great, and it’s one of the select few superhero movies that is not just a good superhero movie, but a good movie as well. So, I was pretty hyped for the movie’s sequel, Captain America: the Winter Soldier. And I must say, I’m very disappointed.

Now, don’t get me wrong, the movie isn’t bad at all. But coming from the directors of mainly comedies, including many episodes of Arrested Development and Community, I expected something a little less… dark. The first Captain America, while dark at times, was still an upbeat throwback to the Superman style of superhero movies. This was just not that. The movie this movie most closely resembles is This Means War, the 2011 spy comedy starring Bane and Spock, in that while there is an air of humor, the overall tone of the movie is too dark and clinical. And spy-y.

The movie did little for the Marvel universe as a whole, besides bringing Bucky back into play. However, there was a post-credits scene that revealed three things. A) that Hydra is holding Quicksilver and Scarlet Witch captive, B) that Loki’s scepter is the third Infinity Gem, and C) that Hydra has the third Infinity Gem. Presumably, the other infinity gems will be introduced in Guardians of the Galaxy, Ant-Man, and Doctor Strange, although saying “presumably” makes a pres out of u and mably.

Anyway, what did I like about this movie? The story’s pretty good. There’s an interesting little conspiracy theory in there. I love how they explained what happened to a lot of the characters from the first movie. I also loved how they gave Nick Fury a larger role. If you haven’t seen the movie yet and just read the article ‘cuz you don’t care about spoilers, you may notice that Fury is killed off within the first half hour. However, as you may know already, SHIELD agents are very hard to kill.

I was really interested by the notion that Hydra was controlling SHIELD and bringing the world to a point where they were willing to give up their freedom in the interest of security. It’s a pretty cool little theory, and it adds a bit of realism to a series that gets less realistic by the hour. However, I do love that they’re kind of slowly making things more and more ridiculous to prepare us for Thanos and (hopefully) the One Above All.

But the one thing that I dislike about this movie above all (pun intended) is that it’s just kind of boring. That’s not to say it’s not action-packed; it is, but on a fundamental level, nothing about the movie is particularly exciting. Winter Soldier, despite (or perhaps because of) being as much of a superhero as Cap, always just felt like a normal guy to me. And yes, most of the Iron Man villains are normal guys, but Iron Man makes up for it with humor and iron suits and such. On some level, this just feels like two normal guys fighting, who happen to be spies… just like This Means War.

Overall, I give it a B. In terms of Marvel movies, I put it squarely in between Thor 2 and Iron Man 3putting it at… #6. Out of 9. That sounds a lot worse than it actually is. Anyway, Like if you like, favorite if you favorite, follow if you follow, don’t forget to follow me on Twitter @BreakingPOORLY, and as always…

Liek dis if u cry evertim.

