Hey, guys. You may have noticed quite a bit of hyperbole in my Marshall Mathers LP 2 review. This is because I was listening to the songs and then immediately writing reviews of them. Now that a few months have past and I’ve had more time to chew the album over, I think I can confidently say what the best and worst songs on the album are, and how I feel about the album in general. Here we go.

BEST SONGS:

LOVE GAME FEAT. KENDRICK LAMAR

This song, put simply, is hilarious. The flow is amazing, the lyrics are funny, yet genuine at times, the sample is great and fits the tone of the song well, and everything about the song perfectly highlights everything that’s messed up about the game of love.

SURVIVAL FEAT. LIZ RODRIGUES

I didn’t particularly like “Survival” at first. On the surface, it seemed to be exactly the same song as “Won’t Back Down.” In retrospect, however, what makes “Survival” stand out is its lyrics, some of Eminem’s wittiest to date (“From the beginning, it wasn’t about the ends, it was about busting raps and standing for something- fucking acronym”). Just line after line of flawless puns (“Hop in and gun it like G-Unit without the hyphen, hypin’ them up”), built around a solid beat that makes this Eminem’s most energetic song in a long time.

ASSHOLE FEAT. SKYLAR GREY 

I know, I just talked about how good the beats on those last two songs were, but this is really the best beat on the album. Just listen to it and you’ll see why. And the lyrics ain’t half bad, either. So yeah. It’s pretty cool. The song is produced by Alex Da Kid and Eminem. Alex isn’t exactly known for impressive beats (before this, his best was probably the bouncy riff on “On Top of the World” by Imagine Dragons), so this must be the work of Eminem. He should produce his own songs more often.

RAP GOD

“Rap God” is just now starting to get old, which is more than I can say for “Berzerk” and “The Monster,” the other two songs from this album that were all over the radio for a few months. “Rap God” is especially impressive when you consider that it was freestyled, and it’s a great example of why Eminem is my favorite rapper. Alright, on to the worst.

WORST SONGS:

STRONGER THAN I WAS

I initially praised this song, but then I realized that just because a song is emotional doesn’t make it good. In fact, many emotional songs, especially from Eminem, aren’t very good at all (“Mockingbird,” “Love the Way You Lie”). This is an example of that. It just ruins the album’s whole momentum. This was a massive, energetic album, before this song comes on and the whole thing comes crashing down. It’s just too slow, too sad, and too non-Eminem.

HEADLIGHTS FEAT. NATE REUSS

There really shouldn’t have been any sad songs on this album. If it had maintained its upbeat “Berzerk”/”Bad Guy”/”Just about every song on the album” energy, it could have been amazing, maybe even as good as The Eminem Show. You heard me. But these sad, dull songs really weigh the album down. When it was announced that Eminem and Nate Reuss would be collaborating, I expected something more along the lines of “Some Nights” and less “Just Give Me a Reason.” It’s not very good.

DESPERATION FEAT. JAMIE N COMMONS

“Desperation” is the most forgettable song on the album, along with “Don’t Front.” Neither of them is bad, but ultimately, I decided that “Desperation” was the worse of the two for its mediocre lyrics and slow pace. So yeah. It’s OK.

OVERALL:

This album is still fantastic. I’m not changing my overall opinion of the album at all, just my opinion on various songs. So that’s that.

Winter Soldier and Bad Words reviews coming next week, followed by reviews of Muppets Most Wanted and Transcendence. Like if you like, favorite if you favorite, follow  if you follow, don’t forget to follow me on Twitter @BreakingPOORLY, and as always…

Liek dis if u cry evertim.

