Now, let me make myself perfectly clear. I am not a Directioner. I’ve only liked two 1D singles (Best Song Ever, Story of My Life), and I haven’t listened to anything but their most popular songs. What I’m doing today is simply noting the parallels between 1D and the Beatles, a band I’ve always found to be a tad overrated (More of a Stones guy, myself). We’ll start with:

#1) ORIGINS

Oh god, no

There are no parallels between the origins of the Beatles and One Direction.

#2) FREAKY CHRONOLOGICAL STUFF

"Hi, everybody!" "Hi, Doctor..."
“Hi, everybody!”
“Hi, Doctor…”

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Beatles’ first single to chart in the US came out in 1961. 1D’s first single to chart in the US came out in 2011, 50 years later. The Beatles’ first good single to chart in the US came out in 1963. 1D’s came out in 2013, once again, 50 years later. In their first year active, 1D and the Beatles each released two singles. The Beatles were 21, 19, 18, and 21 when their first single came out. 1D were 18, 21, 19, 20, and 19 when their first single came out. the average age of the Beatles at the time was 19.75. The average age of 1D was 19.4. If some of my numbers are wrong, please do not correct me.

#3) THE MUUUUUUUUUSIC, MAN!

It’s my favorite movie, man

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Beatles’ first few singles sucked. Their first, “My Bonnie,” was essentially a sea shanty, and not a good one at that. Their first couple songs were the kind of vapid, generic trash we’ve come to expect from boy bands like One Direction. Their first good single, “Roll Over Beethoven,” was still a typical ’60s surf rock number, and was a cover of a song by Chuck Berry (1D got their start on X Factor, covering songs like “Torn” by Ednaswap (don’t ask me)). Obviously, you could see how this stage in their career resembles One Direction. But here’s where it gets interesting.

#4) I SAW HER STANDING THERE

Can you read this sheet music? The Beatles couldn’t.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

“I Saw Her Standing There” and “Best Song Ever” may as well be the same song. Looking at the Beatles’ previous singles, they’re all addressed to “you” (Love Me Do, PS I Love You, I Want to Hold Your Hand, From Me To You, Thank You Girl, She Loves You, I’ll Get You, etc). And looking at 1D’s previous singles… same thing (What Makes You Beautiful, One Thing, Live While We’re Young, Little Things, etc). But “I Saw Her Song Ever” was their first song that felt real, like it was about a real person. This was made possible by detailed lines (“She was 17,” “Her name was Georgia Rose”), as well as genuine, heartfelt lyrics. Of course, “Best Song Ever” wasn’t written by any members of 1D, but the principle’s the same. It was true for someone. The songs themselves are also really similar. They’re both about dancing with a girl and falling in love with them. “Best Song Ever”‘s riff was stolen from “Baba O’Riley” by the Who, while “I Saw Her Standing There”‘s was lifted from “Talkin’ About You” by Chuck Berry. They’re both very upbeat, pop-rock songs, despite their romantic lyrics, and even some of the lyrics are the same. Look at this:

Beatles: “1, 2, 3, 4!”

One Direction: “1, 2, 1, 2, 3!”

Beatles: “And the way she looked was way beyond compare”

One Direction: “Maybe it’s the way she walked straight into my heart and stole it”

Beatles: “Whoah, we danced through the night”

One Direction: “And we danced all night to the best song ever”

Y’see? And of course, this brings us to the last point there is to talk about, since 1D hasn’t really done anything else:

#5) STORY OF MY LIFE

“Story of My Life” is actually really good. And it’s not really like any Beatles song. “You Really Got a Hold On Me” is similar in theme, but it sucks and was never released as a single. This could be a sign of 1D becoming something distinct, which could lead to great things for them in the future. Just like the Beatles, when they became something distinct, in… 1964. Huh.

So, that’s how 1D parallels the Beatles. Let’s hope they continue down this path. I’ll have a bunch of other articles out eventually. Like if you like, favorite if you favorite, follow if you follow, don’t forget to follow me on Twitter @BreakingPOORLY, and as always…

Like dis if yu cry evertim.

