With the year dwindling down and me in an airport in Canada, now seems like a good time to tell you my 5 favorite movies of the year. They are accompanied by photos of their lead actors in silly hats.

#5: IRON MAN 3

Robert Downey Jr, seen here in a red fedora

Iron Man 3 divided its viewers a bit. Fans of the comics seemed to dislike it, while everyone else in the world loved it. So there you go. This movie is funny, dark, and just awesome.

#4: MONSTERS UNIVERSITY

Billy Crystal, seen here in a floppy wizard’s hat

Once again, people are somewhat split on this movie. While I don’t think it’s as good as some of Pixar’s finest, I thought it was the best kids’ movie of the year and one of the best movies.

#3: KICK-ASS 2

Aaron Taylor-Johnson, seen here in a sideways top hat

This one didn’t split the fan base. Everyone hated it. Except me. I don’t know about you guys, but I LOVED this movie. I thought it was the most wholly entertaining movie of the year. Not only that: I don’t have a single complaint about this movie. Sure it was really, really forgettable, but other than that, I got nothing. It’s just so good. Even reading other critics’ reviews, I’ve yet to find a single legitimate critique for this movie that I agree with.

#2: THE WORLD’S END

Simon Pegg, seen here in an unfloppy wizard’s hat

This movie, while not as good as the other Three Flavors movies, is funny, action-packed, and very entertaining. If you’re wondering how I could say that a movie I hold in such high regard isn’t as good as the other two, you obviously haven’t seen the other two. See them. Now. Shaun of the Dead and Hot Fuzz. Do it.

#1: ANCHORMAN 2: THE LEGEND CONTINUES

Will Ferrell, seen here in a floral swim cap

When I went to see this movie, I was pretty excited. It looked pretty good, maybe even as good as its predecessor, which at the time was my favorite movie. But when I came out, there was no contest. Anchorman 2 is the greatest movie ever made. Hands down. See it. PLEASE. Here, take my money. Go see it. Now.

So, that concludes my 5 favorite movies of 2013. I’ll be making a list of the worst in the next few days, a Wolf of Wall Street review in 2014, and possibly a Hobbit or American Hustle review sometime in the next week. Don’t forget to follow me on Twitter @BreakingPOORLY. Like it if you like it, reblog if you really like it, follow me if you want to make love to it, and until next time…

End transmission.

