Well, with 2013 coming to a close, now seems like the best time to rank my favorite albums of 2013. Let’s begin.

#5: RANDOM ACCESS MEMORIES by Daft Punk

We’re up all night to Get Fuzzy by Darby Conley

Will Ferrell’s friends Daft Punk made what could be their best album to date with Random Access Memories, with each song delivering a great beat that can easily get the party started.

BEST SONG: “Get Lucky.” This was a pretty dismal year for popular music, but one of the only songs that never got old was “Get Lucky.” It’s the song of the summer, and with the help of Pharrell’s vocals, it’s the best song on the album.

#4: THE 20/20 EXPERIENCE PART 1 OF 2 by Justin Timberlake

Justin Timberlake playing a steampunk Virtual Boy

JT proved he was more than a talentless hack (unlike the other members of NSYNC) with Justified, and he cemented his role as the king of modern pop with FutureSex/LoveSounds, but with his new albums, he showcased something that didn’t quite come through on his other two albums: class. This album is one of my favorites of the year simply because every song displays a certain sophistication that I wish more modern pop songs had.

BEST SONG: Tough call, but I’m gonna have to give it to “Suit and Tie.” It’s the epitome of suave, whatever that means.

#3: MODERN VAMPIRES OF THE CITY by Vampire Weekend

I see the city, but where are the modern vampires?

I’m not 100% sure why this album is so good. Every song is just so interesting. I want to know more about each lyric that comes out of these modern vampires’ mouths.

BEST SONG: Tough call. “Step” has the best lyrics, “Worship You” is the most energetic, and “Hudson” is the most interesting. I think I’m going to give it to “Step.”

#2: THE MARSHALL MATHERS LP 2

The new album from Eivn3m.

I’ve already reviewed MMLP2, so I’ll keep it short. This album is extremely good. You should listen to it.

BEST SONGS: “Baby,” “Groundhog Day,” and “Rap God.”

Before we get to #1, I’d like to present a few…

Honorable Mentions: THE NEXT DAY by David Bowie, SAVE ROCK AND ROLL by Fall Out Boy, YEEZUS by Kanye West, NEW by Paul McCartney, REFLEKTOR by Arcade Fire

And the #1 album of the year is…

#1: THE WACK ALBUM by The Lonely Island

Which one’s the cutest?

Once again, I’ve already reviewed this album, but I just have to say: This is not only my favorite album of the year, it’s the best album I’ve ever bought. Every song is just so good. I can’t believe how good this album is, and quite frankly I find it somewhat strange that it’s not on any other best lists. The Lonely Island has grown up. So much so that there’s not a single fart joke- oh wait, never mind.

BEST SONGS: “I Don’t Give a Honk” and “I Run NY.” The first for its fun beat and gut-busting lyrics, the other for its fantastic beat and hilarious concept.

So, those are my favorite albums of 2013. I’ll have a Desolation of Smaug review out on Sunday, followed by an Anchorman 2 review and my end-of-the-year stuff. Don’t forget to follow me on Twitter @BreakingPOORLY. If you like this post, like this post. And until next time…

End transmission.

