Let’s talk about Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs. The 2009 movie, based VERY loosely on a children’s book by Judi and Ron Barrett. The film has an 87% on Rotten Tomatoes, which coincidentally is about the same score as the original Shrek. More on that later. Now, there was a mass consensus that this movie was REALLY GOOD. The animation was interesting and fun, the story and characters were hilariously over the top, but still easy to watch, it was hands down the best children’s movie of the year. Or it would have been, if it weren’t for Up. I’ll get more into Up when the time comes, but for now, let me just say this: Up was fucking hilarious. Seriously, it was one of the funniest movies of the ’00s. So, after being overshadowed by Up, Cloudy was largely forgotten about.

Until 2013, when trailers started popping up for the sequel. Originally titled Cloudy 2: Revenge of the Leftovers, the movie’s title was eventually changed to Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs 2. This trailer got people VERY excited. It was funny (There’s a leek in the boat!), it was well-scored, and the animation was just as good as ever. More trailers started to surface, and they only made children and fans of the animation genre more and more excited until finally…

The bass drop. The movie came out and did pretty impressively at the box office, scoring $35 million on opening weekend, nearly half its budget. However, the response from critics was mixed, to say the least. Rotten Tomatoes has it down for a 57%, calling it a fun family movie despite not being as clever and inventive as the first one. I have to disagree with that statement.

I’m going to sidetrack for a minute here to talk about the end of the year. You see, in two and a half months, likely while I’m in Israel, I will be compiling a list of the 5 best, 5 worst, and 5 most forgettable movies of the year. As it stands right now, it looks like either Admission or Oz the Great and Powerful will be the most forgettable. This has been a good year for bad movies, and not in a good way. Let me give you a good representation of how bad things have been this year for bad movies. Smurfs 2, one of the most infamous movies in a long time, is #5. 5! I’m worried that it won’t make the list. My five best is also a fully complete list. Let’s take a sneak peek. #1: The World’s End, #2: Kick-Ass 2, #3: Monsters University, #4: Iron Man 3. This leads me to the #5, the fifth-best movie I’ve seen all year:

Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs 2. You heard it here first, folks, my fifth-favorite movie I’ve seen all year is Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs 2. This brings me to my Shrek analogy (remember?). You see, when Shrek came out, people really liked it. Sure, it wasn’t the best movie of the year (not by a long shot)…

Pictured: A long shot

In fact, if you’ll look up there, you’ll notice that the best movie to come out that year was also animated… and it was from Pixar. Hm. Anyway, you’re looking at the poster for Monsters, Inc, one of Pixar’s finest, which had a sequel that was also extremely good and came out… this year. And eclipsed Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs 2. Noticing the pattern? BUT WAIT, THERE’S MORE! Shrek was pretty much forgotten about until trailers for Shrek 2 started surfacing in 2004. These trailers got people very excited, and the movie exceeded their expectations. It was one of the funniest kids’ movies of all time and set the bar so high that there was never any doubt that Shrek the Third would suck.

This is how I feel about Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs 2. I was smiling almost the entire time. The animation was great, it was a great continuation of the first one, and the jokes were rapid fire, although not all of them hit the target. I give this movie an A-. Why the minus? Because as a standalone movie, it was only OK. It just had a plot that was too weird to appreciate unless you’re a fan of the first movie, which most people are. So when my dad didn’t like it, I saw where he was coming from. There were also some parts of the plot that didn’t really make any sense {co-holograms-ugh}. Seriously though, you should see this movie. You’ll probably come out with a smile on your face.

Don’t forget to follow me on Twitter @BreakingPOORLY. If you have questions, comments, or suggestions, put them in the comments below or email me at thatnaivecube@gmail.com. I’ll have a review of Scream coming up in a few days. I’ll likely review Machete Kills next week. We’ll see what happens from there.

End transmission.

