Well, Breaking Bad is finally over. Was it the best show ever? No. Was it the best show on TV? Maybe. Was it the best finale of the year? Probably. So, let’s talk about it. First, I want to clarify something. I do like Breaking Bad. I really do. I just don’t think it’s the best show ever, as many people, including Kumail Nanjiani, do. In fact, I get frustrated when people say this, especially a professional comedian like Kumail Nanjiani. It’s just too grim and humorless. When I want to watch Breaking Bad, I’ll watch Breaking Bad, but when I’m just watching TV and not looking to watch any program in particular, I probably wouldn’t choose Breaking Bad. In all honesty, I personally think Doctor Who, for example, is a better show than Breaking Bad. First of all, it has the same level of artistic integrity as Bad, but second of all, it’s funny and lighthearted. And Doctor Who isn’t my favorite show, either!

All that being said, the Breaking Bad finale was Breaking GREAT. Of the five series finales I’ve seen this year, this one was almost definitely the best. The Office is a very close second, but this is the best. And I realized why I like it so much. IT WAS A HAPPY ENDING. On a show like Breaking Bad, you expect the ending to be something along the lines of Walter dying in prison, sad and alone. And I am so glad that they didn’t do that. Everything worked out for everybody. Flynn got the money, Jesse got his freedom (and killed Todd!), and Walter died a happy man. It pretty much embodied everything I liked about Breaking Bad. It had Walter killing people by doing science, it had happy moments and sad moments, it had the death of Todd, it even had my favorite part of the entire show: BADGER AND SKINNY PETE. I’m not even exaggerating. Badger (Matt L. Jones) is my favorite character in the entire Breaking Bad universe.

But I did have a few complaints. First of all, I don’t know how they came to the decision to do this ending. Vince Gilligan claims that he wanted to make the happiest ending he could considering the circumstances, but then why did they kill Hank and Gomez literally TWO EPISODES AGO and literally make things as bad as possible up until this episode? Did the idea of having a happy ending come about after these other episodes were written? Were they punking us? Did they decide to have things go like things usually go on Breaking Bad and then just suddenly get happy in the last half of the last episode? And what happened to Badger and Skinny Pete? They showed up for like two minutes, but nothing was really resolved. Did they get off the meth after Walt stopped making it? What did Badger do with the Star Trek script? Did it have any symbolic meaning? I can’t find any. Also, it’s not true that Walt did it for himself. Maybe he kept doing it for himself, but at first, he was most certainly doing it for his family.

Overall, this episode was great. I give it an A. I may or may not be making a Break It Down about Breaking Bad, but what I know for sure is that I will be reviewing Cloudy 2 next week. Also, Scream. Don’t ask me why. Don’t forget to follow me on Twitter @BreakingPOORLY, and if you have any questions, comments, suggestions, or submissions, put them in the comments section below and/or e-mail them to me at thatnaivecube@gmail.com.

End transmission.

