GUESS WHO’S BACK

BACK AGAIN

JD’S BACK

TELL A FRIEND


Hello, normal people of the world, and welcome to my latest installment of… Review, I guess. Today, I’ll be talking about The Family, the latest from the mind behind Taken and The Fifth Element. The movie revolves around the family of a crime lord played by Robert De Niro. And honestly, I don’t have much to say about it. As I said in my title, the movie is very forgettable, and although it was altogether a good movie, it was just hard to sit through. The beginning was too gritty and confusing, the middle had no plot and started coming off as a Grown Ups-like excuse to tell every joke they could think of, and the ending? Well, the ending was awesome.

I noticed that in the film society scene, they used one of De Niro’s best and most well-known movies: Goodfellas. I don’t know if this was meant to poke fun at something, but if it was, it didn’t really work. Were they going to do a self-reference, then decided it wouldn’t work with the tone of the movie and left it out? I don’t know. Another issue I have is that the relationship that Dianna Argon’s character gets into doesn’t really feel real. I don’t know, it just never really seems like they actually, you know, fell in love. Now that I think about it, that plotline never really gets resolved, does it? One minute, she’s on the roof, the next minute, she’s shootin’ some bad guys.

All in all, I do like this movie. It definitely gets a B- from me. De Niro’s finally doing something right. And it looks like his next few films are going to be… exactly the same thing. Seriously, look at his IMDb page. All of his upcoming movies are crime thrillers. I have a feeling things are only going to get worse for Robert De Niro.

Don’t forget to follow me on Twitter @BreakingPOORLY for more of my insane ramblings. I’ll have a Cloudy 2 review up next Sunday and a Stank-Ass Ranking of the Superman movies sometime this week. After that, I’ll do a Reading About TV and a Break It Down for Breaking Bad. Until then…

End transmission.

