Today, I saw The World’s End, the third and final installment in the Three Flavours Cornetto trilogy. Now, I had high hopes for this movie. After all, Hot Fuzz is one of my favorite movies, as is Shaun of the Dead. I knew it wasn’t going to be bad. After all, it has a 90% on Rotten Tomatoes. THAT’S INSANE. You may be saying, “How is that insane? There are 55 comedies that have a 100%!” Well, yeah, but some of them aren’t feature-length, some of them are foreign, some of them aren’t really comedies, and a few of them are Pixar movies. So really, there’s only about five. So, did The World’s End meet my high expectations?

Yep. Well, almost. While it may not be as good as Fuzz, it is a highly entertaining movie that keeps you guessing all the way through, and is one of the few comedies out there that is, by AFI standards, a good movie. And when I say it keeps you guessing, I mean it really keeps you guessing. I can honestly say that I didn’t expect anything past the twenty-minute mark or so. There were just SO MANY twists and turns,  and whenever one came around, you didn’t expect it, but it felt right. You weren’t like, “What a twist!” You were more like, “Of course!” I almost hated myself for not having realized some of the twists, but at the same time I knew that no one in their right minds would have seen them coming.

I don’t wish to spoil the plot, although you could find it very easily, so instead I’m going to go over my favorite scene, favorite line, and favorite character. Before that, I’d like to say that this movie feels like a combination of Hot Fuzz and The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy, two movies that I highly recommend, as they are both excellent parodies, and excellent movies in general, that make great use of the only character Martin Freeman can play.

Alright, my favorite scene. This is actually pretty hard, since there are a lot of great scenes in this movie. But if I really had to choose one, it would be the scene where the Network finally confronts Gary and Andy about its killing of all the townspeople and their killing of all the clones of the townspeople. This scene really ties the movie together, and makes perfect sense out of the second act, which would otherwise have been a mess of sci-fi weirdness. In fact, that middle part is the only thing that keeps me from giving this movie an A+. While it does have a fantastic beginning and an AMAZING ending, the middle is very disjointed and weird. Actually, the middle is still very good, despite being, as I said before, disjointed and weird. In fact, I am going to give this movie an A+! Um, spoilers.

My favorite line? That’s a really tricky one. Pretty much everything that comes out of Simon Pegg’s mouth is worthy of this title. However, since I can’t remember that one line from the end, I’m going to say my favorite quote is from Martin Freeman, who in this movie plays Martin Freeman. Don’t get me wrong, I like Martin, but he’s really the same person in everything he’s ever been in. Anyway, there was a very funny running joke where they were trying to figure out names for the robots. When the argument reaches its peak, Martin says, “I still think nothing that has been suggested in the past ten minutes beats ‘smashy-smashy egg men.'” That line was pretty much overlooked and was totally out of character for Freeman, which is weird since he’s been playing that character for such a long time, but it’s still hilarious.

And of course, my favorite character is Gary King, played by Simon Pegg. Pegg is one of my favorite actors because he can play such a wide variety of characters, and yet each one can immediately be pinpointed as Simon Pegg. He just has such a unique style, such a unique way of making you feel for his character, that you can’t help but admire him for it. Gary is a douchebag. He starts out as a douchebag, and he stays a douchebag all the way through. And yet, you still really feel for him, especially during his heartfelt exchanges with Andy, played by Nick Frost. And of course, my favorite line in the movie is his big speech about fuck-ups towards the end. The reason I didn’t say it was my favorite line is because I didn’t remember any of it. Simon Pegg is truly one of the greatest comedic actors, and if you watch this movie, you’ll see why.

I give this movie an A+. See it. Please. Is it my favorite movie of the year? Yes. Honestly, in retrospect, Kick-Ass 2 wasn’t that great a movie. I mean, it was really good, but I don’t know if it deserved an A+. Maybe an A or A-, but not an A+. This movie is remarkable. It’s truly the most unique movie I’ve seen in a long time. And I love it for that.

End transmission.

